Savage Scavenge (MaryJanice Davidson in Charming the Snake) – Chapter Eight

Gladys is quickly getting dressed again, while Jaz apologises for the sex being so short.

“It was wonderful,” she was saying, and that was pretty nice of her. “I haven’t done it in years.” [Even more reason to try to come, don’t you think?]
“Never with a mute, either, I bet,” he said smugly, and stretched. He caught a whiff of the pillowcase and jerked his head back. Errgghh. Time to create a forcefield that does laundry. [Ew, ew, ew… Do you know how long it takes for pillowcases to stink? I never conducted a field study, but I bet it’s a long time. Gross.]

Well, Gladys tells him that he wasn’t the first mute she slept with, with leaves him with his mouth hanging open. Gladys almost gets angry again because Jaz is a “snob“, who can’t see that she doesn’t care about mute or not-mute. [I’m using Davidson’s vocabulary again, I’d say that his behaviour is less snob than racist.] But Jaz can turn the whole thing round by making a joke.

“ (…) Listen, let me find my pants, and I’ll drive you home.”
“Don’t forget your underpants this time.”
“Never wear ’em,” he said cheerfully. [And again, ew, ew, ew…]
“Yes. I noticed.” She sniffed disapprovingly, dug her bag out of a pile by the door [a pile of what? Pants? Underpants? And how did her bag get there?], and said, “I can drive myself home. You’ll recall, I drove us here.”
“Aw, come on. I’ll go with. It’s the least I can do after dragging you out of your place in the dead of night on false pretenses.”
“I notice you haven’t offered to let me stay the night.” [Well, would you want to stay the night? The place is yucky! And anyway, it was you who jumped out of bed like a jack-in-a-box. Probably because you were afraid of lice, but still.]

Jaz stutters a bit, trying to answer that statement, while Gladys heads downstairs to the car. Jaz mules things over, how she did everything that night and not expected anything and he still didn’t want her to stay, although complete self-abandonment is such an attractive trait in a woman. Finally he has the epiphany that he is a racist snob, searches for some underpants, even though he knows that he doesn’t have any and then follows her to the car, wondering if there ever will be a next time that they have sex.

Leave a Reply

