Savage Scavenge (MaryJanice Davidson in Charming the Snake) – Chapter Two

Okay, chapter two is even shorter than chapter one and completely unnecessary. Well, almost. At least it’s unnecessary to have an extra chapter for that.

Half a day later, Gladys gets home from work in the clinic and picks a grapefruit in the patio of her flat on the 8th floor. She wonders briefly about the (pollution-caused) greenish-brown colour of the fruit.

They didn’t look pretty, but they tasted great and were better for her… [better than what?] was there a message in that? [There’s a message in everything. The signs are everywhere! Just ask M. Night Shyamalan.]

Then Gladys thinks about gardening and how the climate in Minneapolis is now tropical and about her flat and that she’s paying too much for it [Good to know that some things never change].

After that she fixes herself a juice and swallows some pills (first day of the 6th week she’s taking them). Pills that are hard to get, although it was really easy for her (being a doctor does have its advantages).

Was she really going to do this thing? [Don’t ask me, I don’t even know what she’s doing.] It wasn’t like a library book; you couldn’t take it back, and the fees weren’t small, either. [Right now, I’m just glad I didn’t buy this book. Spit it out. I hate it when writers get all ominous. If you want to surprise me, don’t let me notice that you’re trying to surprise me. This is just frustrating, I’ll just keep thinking about what kind of pills she could be taking and I’m bound to know before you write it down. My guess right now – she’s sterilising herself, because a tropical Minneapolis, where rents are too high is not a place worth living in.]

Well, she thought, popping a pill out of its protective packet and swallowing it with a sip of juice,it’s not like I’ve got candidates knocking down my door, anyway.
Then her patio door split down the middle. [A-hahaha, you’re so funny.  And is that a hint on a neon sign? The blinking thing over there, with all the arrows pointing to it? The one that says that the candidate just knocked?]

Leave a Reply

